Clarification of statements made about TCOT Founder Michael P. Leahy on May 13, 200

23 05 2009

As it seems at least half the goddamn internet is aware by now, TCOT founder, tea party leader and confirmed non-lizard Michael Patrick Leahy took issue with some statements I made about him in a post on this site last month. While I stand by the stand by both the substance and spirit of that post, I want to make very clear that I am amending both instances of the term “tax fraud” to “tax negligence.” After speaking with Mr. Leahy and reviewing the facts on my own, I feel the latter term more accurately represents Leahy’s storied history with the IRS, and it has always been my intention to present the facts in the most honest (if foul-mouthed) light possible on this site.

So, again, we’re talking tax negligence here, not tax fraud.

I would also like to state for the record that I have no evidence beyond my own instinct to support my prior claim that Mr. Leahy is a member of an alien race of Lizard People. As I am not an expert in this area, I am prepared to clarify that assertion as well following a thorough examination by a credible herpetologist or ichthyologist of Mr. Leahy’s choosing.

However, I strongly contend that Mr. Leahy’s definition of the term “insane clown” is overly narrow and believe that under the commonly accepted definition of that phrase, my use of it to describe Mr. Leahy is neither libelous nor incorrect, and I continue to stand by my original assertion.

In all seriousness, though, this week has been a turbulent one for me and for all of the kind and capable folks who have supported me through this debacle. It has also brought to light a very unseemly side of social media—namely that it is very easy and all too common for opponents of a free press to threaten, defame and intimidate bloggers who, unlike traditional reporters, generally don’t work for media companies with professional legal departments. These folks often are easy to bully, not because they’re in the wrong, but because they aren’t familiar with their rights or the legal resources available to them.

Many of you have generously offered to contribute to a legal defense fund on my behalf. Fortunately, due to the hard work and unflagging support of some wonderful allies, we were able to avoid actual litigation. However, this is not a problem that is going away, and I strongly encourage you to give whatever you are able to the Student Press Law Center, the Electronic Frontier Foundation or the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Thanks to all who provided help and support, but especially to: “Markos Moulitsas, Allen Pulsifer, David Waldman from DailyKos.com; Dennis Mooney and Karoli Kuns (bipart.com); the Citizen Media Law Project, and of course, my esteemed wartime consigliere, @Shoq who also taught me how to switch a hand-held phaser from stun to kill when huntin’ alien lizard.

Cheers, and enjoy your long weekend.

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 05 2009
HoboSpaceJunkie

Nicely done, well said, much relief all around. Good luck, bon chance, herzlichen glückwunsch on your upcoming move.

23 05 2009
Harry R. Sohl

“$85,449 was for 4 Federal Tax Liens. Of these liens, more than half of the amount listed is for penalty and interest. I have, for the past nine years, engaged in a long dialogue with several different offices of the IRS, all towards the purpose of completing a workable installment agreement.”

Yeah, it’s 50% “penalties and interest” because IT’S BEEN NINE YEARS!

“Workable”? How about, “Pay your fucking tax bill!”: That works for me.

26 05 2009
Lydia

Well managed. I’m sorry you had to go through this. These people are toxic.

26 05 2009
Don’t sue me, bro « Teablogging

[…] sue me, bro « Teablogging on Michael Patrick Leahy is officially insaneLydia on Clarification of statements made about TCOT Founder Michael P. Leahy on May 13, 200Fire Storm » Blog Archive » DailyUprising.com: Vicious hypocrisy on Tea party […]

Leave a Reply

